An American Song Album


Selections by Gordon Getty

  • Kathie’s Aria (from “Goodbye, Mr. Chips”)
  • 26. Chips, darling, it’s started
  • Three Welsh Songs
  • 27. I. Welcome Robin
  • 28. II. Kind Old Man
  • 29. III. All Through the Night
  • 30. Deep River
  • 31. Danny Boy


  • Composers: Samuel Barber, Jake Heggie, Carlisle Floyd, Aaron Copland, Gordon Getty
  • Melody Moore, soprano
  • Bradley Moore, piano
  • PENTATONE / Release Date: 2019

An American Song Album is a fine collection of songs by American composers, presented by soprano Melody Moore. The repertoire includes Samuel Barber’s introspective “Hermit Songs,” Jake Heggie’s engaged cycles “These Strangers” and “How Well I Knew the Light,” Carlisle Floyd’s exploration of motherhood in “The Mystery,” Copland’s impressionist and oriental “Four Early Songs,” as well as a varied selection from Gordon Getty’s vocal works. Set to Irish, Welsh, Chilean, German, Arabic and Afro-American poetry, these pieces constitute a panorama of the US as a melting pot of cultures, while simultaneously being bound together by an unmistakably American sound. Melody Moore manages to lift out the poetry of these works with her warm, lyrical voice and impeccable vocal technique. She is accompanied on the piano by Bradley Moore, one of the most eminent conductors and song accompanists of today’s American musical scene.

With her first solo album, Melody Moore continues her PENTATONE discography that already features recordings of leading roles in Gordon Getty’s Plump Jack (2012) and The Little Match Girl (2015), as well as Desdemona in Verdi’s Otello (2017).


Listen to or purchase the album