Usher House


Opera in One Act

  • Prologue: “During the whole of a dull, dark and soundless day”
  • Scene One: “Can it be five years my friend?”
  • Scene One: “She was my model in writing”
  • Scene One: “Where is my lady, o where is she gone?”
  • Scene Two: “Lady Heliane Usher”
  • Scene Three: “And now it is time to bid our silent farewells”
  • Scene Four: “We are particularly honored to receive our guest”
  • Scene Five: “Roderick, I must speak”


  • Christian Elsner, tenor
  • Etienne Dupuis, baritone
  • Phillip Ens, bass
  • Lisa Delan, soprano
  • With special guest Benedict Cumberbatch
  • Orquestra Gulbenkian
  • Lawrence Foster, conductor
  • Sung in English
  • PentaTone Classics SACD Recording / Released 2013


An opera in one act, Usher House is based on Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher

“Poe’s inter-grown house and family of Usher are artworks of morbidity and malaise worthy of the spectacular climax he devised for them. He has preferred to make mood everything, saving almost all dialogue and explicit action for the closing scene.” – Gordon Getty

Behind the scenes

The PentaTone Classics SACD recording, released in 2013, features:
Gulbenkian Orchestra
Lawrence Foster, conductor
Etienne Dupuis, baritone
Christian Elsner, tenor
Phillip Ens, bass
Lisa Delan, soprano
Benedict Cumberbatch, actor